Learn Thai Alphabet: Audio Lesson

Wishlist Share
Share Course
Page Link
Share On Social Media

About Course

  1. Consonants (42 in total): The Thai consonants are divided into three classes based on their classes of articulation: low, middle, and high. The consonant classes help determine the tone of the syllables in which they appear. There are 14 consonants in each class.
    • Low-class consonants: ก (k), ข (kh), ค (k), ฆ (kh), ง (ng) จ (ch), ฉ (ch), ช (ch), ซ (s), ฌ (ch) ญ (y), ฎ (d), ฏ (t), ฐ (th)
    • Middle-class consonants: ต (t), ถ (th), ท (th), ธ (th), น (n) บ (b), ป (p), ผ (ph), ฝ (f), พ (p) ฟ (f), ภ (ph), ม (m)
    • High-class consonants: ย (y), ร (r), ล (l), ว (w) ศ (s), ษ (s), ส (s), ห (h)
  2. Vowels (32 in total): Thai vowels can be divided into long and short vowels. Vowels are represented by diacritic marks that are placed above, below, before, or after the consonant they follow. There are different symbols for short and long vowels. Here are some examples:
    • Short vowels: ะ (a), ิ (i), ุ (u), เ (e), แ (ae), โ (o)
    • Long vowels: า (aa), ี (ii), ู (uu), แ (aee), ไ (ai), เ (ee), โ (oo)
  3. Tone Marks (4 in total): The Thai language is a tonal language, and the tone of a word can be determined by the tone mark. There are four tone marks in Thai:
    • ไม้เอก (mai ek) – High tone
    • ไม้โท (mai tho) – Falling tone
    • ไม้ตรี (mai tri) – Mid tone
    • ไม้จัตวา (mai jatawa) – Low tone
  4. Numerals: Thai numerals are used for writing numbers. They are distinct from Arabic numerals. The Thai numerals are as follows: ๑ (1), ๒ (2), ๓ (3), ๔ (4), ๕ (5), ๖ (6), ๗ (7), ๘ (8), ๙ (9), ๐ (0).
Show More